Main Panel: Neutral-Ground

n/a15

I saw a 200 amp main service panel in an attached garage today. There was no exterior disconnect.

The panel had neutral busses on each side and ground busses on each side. (Like a subpanel would need) The ground busses were isolated from the neutral and the service conductors, including the main grounding conductor were all in correctly.

So far so good.

All of the house circuit's ground conductors were connected to the left grounding buss and all the neutrals were connected to the right side grounding buss.

The neutrals from the house were isolated from the main service neutral.

I reported to my client that I did not believe this was proper and that the house circuit neutrals should have been connected to the neutral buss/es, and that it should be fully evaluated by a qualified electrician and corrected as necessary.

I am not an electrician and would like to have a better overview on this.

What are the possible hazards if these neutrals are grounded but isolated from the service neutral like this?

Hi J,

This is a great site, freequented by loads of friendly and smart people. They're very approachable and most are willing to answer your every question, or at least try to point you toward someone who can.

But we follow a certain personal model here. Your username and profile are empty, except for a letter. The message that sends is: "Hello, I'd like some of your knowledge, but I'm unwilling to tell you anything about myself." Fill in your profile a little, and watch the replies come rolling in.

Welcome aboard,

I hate to be a killjoy gentlemen, but perhaps you should give new guests a chance to become accustomed to our...unusual...sense of humor before exercising it on them. It's just possible that they won't get the joke immediately, y'know. One might think such statements are in poor taste, if they didn't know better.

Brian G.

Wet Blanket

Originally posted by hausdok