New to inspection industry....few questions

icon_speech_duh.gif

Hello,

I'm new to the industry (finished training in july). Im in the process of putting together my own business and have a few questions.

1. What type's of insurance besides liability should I look into? How much liability insurance?

2. I am looking at buying an all in one starter tool kit. http://www.professionalequipment.com/ba ... cessories/ what are your opinions on this kit? Any other recomends?

3. What else not included in this kit should I purchase.

I have an idea on what tools, but I dont want to go to my first second paid inspection and overlooked purchasing a tool.

Any help and advice on marketing, or anything for that matter, beside whats been poste (read it all) that anybody could offer would be appreciated.

Thank You,

Kyle Collins

Safe Home Inspections

P.S. excuse my sloppy grammar and typing......my 11 month old daughter is crying..

Originally posted by safe_home_inspections

1. What type's of insurance besides liability should I look into? How much liability insurance?

Errors & omissions. I don't know if your state requires it, but I wouldn't do a single inspection without it.

2. I am looking at buying an all in one starter tool kit. http://www.professionalequipment.com/ba ... cessories/ what are your opinions on this kit? Any other recomends?
Go to the start page of The Inspectors Journal and click on the yellow square on the right side that says "Stop overpaying for tools". HI Essentials has the absolute best prices.

• A real flashlight (if you get a Streamlight Ultra-stinger, you'll need 2 to get through 1 inspection.)
  • An assortment of ladders that can get you into and onto everything.
  • A tool box that's strong enough to stand on.
  • Coveralls, kneepads & a respirator.
  • A cordless screwdriver and a really long screwdriver for probing and prying.

If you have a young child I want to guess you are on a budget so see if you can get what you need seperatly.