New inspector, what tools?

Hey everyone,

I've been reading on this site for a little while now, and have found it to be a great resource!

I'm new to the game, I'm just going through my initial schooling now. What I would like to know is what kind of tools should I go out and get as a new inspector. Besides the obvious, flashlights, awl, etc... does anyone recommend going out and spending hundreds of dollars on specialty tools right at the start?

I will be doing this part time until I can build a good business, and will also be working towards becoming a national certificate holder and dual member (ASHI, CAHPI/OAHI) when I have done enough inspections.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Welcome aboard Alex.

... does anyone recommend going out and spending hundreds of dollars on specialty tools right at the start?

I recommend it. Before I did my first solo inspection, I had all the toys tools and some practical experience in their use. That was back when most folks had no idea what to expect from a home inspection.

Now that inspections are pretty well known, I think clients would get nervous if you showed up with a torch and a poker.

In addition to the items being discussed at the link posted above, the specialty tools I think are necessary:

• A moisture meter that can scan & probe
  • A combustible gas detector (to illustrate the gas leak that you could smell anyway)
  • Outlet tester
  • Multi-meter
  • CO meter (w/Bacarach training)
  • Water pressure gauge
  • infrared thermometer w/at least an 30:1 spot ratio
  • Dual K type thermometer
  • Assorted inspection mirrors

I also carry... and use quite often;

A lighted magnifying glass, my favorite being one that is a small flashlight (cost about $10)

A strap on headlight, it looks wherever I do and frees up my hands to write notes or a tool.

A $5 compass (looks like a gumball) that I pin on my shirt, anytime I want to know a direction I just look down.

• 2 years later...

Hi All,