resources

Hey im new to the inspectors journal and first of all just want to say I appreciate all who contribute and am sure this will be an invaluable resource for me for some time to come. I've been licensed in South Dakota going on 3 yrs now and have just recently been able to really get my business up and running for various reasons. Fact is I havent been able to keep up on everything as good as I might have wished for this time, and to tell you the truth especially after viewing the various forums and discussions on TIJ am feeling a bit overwhelmed at the amount of reconnection Im goin to have to do with the profession. To get to the point is there an all in one comprehensive piece of literature that anyone might recommend for me to really put myself back in the loop with everything. I know there is abundance of information out there and i could spend thousands of dollars finding out the same information I could hopefully find in one or two places. thanks

Welcome.

The most valuable resource would be your local building code book if you want an all inclusive resource with correct and up to date info.

Go to the Engineered Wood Association and National Roofing Contractors Association to read all of their free documents available on- line. (AFPA.org/ NRCA.net).

Last but not least, look at TIJ's library-- there's tons of useful info.

Welcome

Recommended reading / reference material and building your HI library have been discussed on this site numerous times with many great suggestions. Do some searching on this site and you'll find it. You really have to build a libary of reference material.

Here are a few that I can see from where I’m sitting now:

All the “Code Checkâ€

. . . To get to the point is there an all in one comprehensive piece of literature that anyone might recommend for me to really put myself back in the loop with everything. . . .

No.

- Jim Katen, Oregon

Chris,

Jim Katen gave you the short answer; I'll expound. There is none.