Marketing

Hello All,

I'm quite new in this business, trying to generate more exposure. I'm debating in my head weather to knock on doors of houses that have "for sale" signs up, ( maybe hand them flyer with contact info?)they will most likely be shopping for a new home. On one hand roofers and siding companies do this, or will I be lowering myself to delivery pizza and Chinese food level? ( don't get me wrong I like pizza and Chinese food delivered to my door.)

Leighton

Marc, just thinking if they are selling they are going to move somewhere, then they become buyers. Many Calgary homeowners are affected by the oil layoffs, many people downsizing, so there is quite a few houses on the market I may also pitch pre-listing inspections. That way they can address the deficiencies or price the home accordingly. Less negotiating in the long run.

Most homeowners do not want an inspection! The less they know about what they are selling the better they are when it comes to disclosing known problems. It might not sound like this is honest but it is just a fact of selling a home.

Open house events work if you take the agent on duty a little snack/bottle of water or something like that, so I have been told?.

Do you have a good website? My website is the number one producer of business for me. Next are word of mouth referrals and then real estate agents. I do not market to agents or visit their offices, they have found me through their buyers that have used me after they found me from my website?.

It takes time to get a business off the ground. Most home inspectors that are successful realize good profits in their third year.

The number of inspections I've done for sellers in 12 years can easily be counted on the fingers of one hand. Last one was several years ago. Hired by wife but hubby got the verbal. He was pissed like hell because of all the things I found.

Never again.

Marc