Which Brand HVAC???

fyrmnk

Looking into replacing our 20+ year old HVAC, even though it's going strong. Figure it's time to increase efficiency on my terms before of a failure. Looking for opinions on different brands. Split system, 3.5 Ton with gas furnace.

Is there much difference in brands anymore these days?

Thanks for any input. Kevin

I worked a while for a guy who sold mostly Trane (American Standard) and they can be a real bitch to work on.  The coils of the outdoor sections cannot be thoroughly cleaned, only moderately so.  Carrier resid has always been the worse brand to work with though (Carrier commercial has some very fine products but that's commercial).

I replaced my AC system 10 years ago and bought the brand I had been selling for many years - Rheem (Ruud).  They're simple, economical to purchase and aren't unduly difficult to service.  Since then, I've cleaned the coils several times, had to diagnose an issue that turned out to be the fault of the dehumidification feature of my thermostat, but nothing else.

I'd avoid Goodman (Amana).  They're shabbily manufactured.

Keep in mind that the quality of the installation is much more important than the brand you choose.  JMHO

• Like 1

Proper installation is probably more important than band. I do prefer the major brands because the installers typically have better training. When I replaced my system about 8 years ago I went with Rheem. At the time they has a modulating furnace that had been out for a number of years and had a good track record. The furnace and two-stage AC have been trouble free. At the same time a friend went with the same system based on my research. We really have not discussed his system, but he is still a friend, so I guess his system has also been fine. Contractors on an HVAC forum also had good things to say about Rheem. 

I got an estimate from the same contractor for Trane equipment. It was significantly more expensive. 

• Thanks 2