New Inspector, Tools needed

Devereaux412

I am new to the business and just starting to get equipment. I have the basics in a good LED flashlight, multi bit screwdriver, GFCI tester and a good ladder.

My question is what other tools are essential? Do you have any that you specifically recommend? I've read through the forums and it seems some answers are dated or that people's answers vary greatly.

Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks!

A few other basic things come to mind....

moisture meter

knee pads

spare bulbs and batteries

inspection mirror

bandaids (people don't like you bleeding on their house)

duplicate tool of whatever you think may be lost or stop working during your day

a clean appearance and a vehicle that shows someone relying on your opinion that they can take you seriously

Protimeter Surveymaster pinless is one of the best for all around moisture detection.

Tramex has one that is better for deeper readings.

I have a pouch with a belt clip for my moisture meter. It is either in my hand or in the pouch. The pouch was designed for old-fashioned (big) cellphones.

Any digital laser thermometer will do for starters. A bare hand works as well, but is less elegant.

A voltage sniffer is essential for knob and tube wiring, abandoned wiring, lights that don't work, etc.

A simple slot-type screwdriver with a slim handle, for poking and pointing.

Expect to lose tools when you are first starting out. After a while, you bring only what you need and you check inventory before the door gets locked. Even so, you will be going back to collect something you left in the house. Like Steven says, have spares of everything. My camera quit on me last week, but I had a spare in the glove box.

My Repair kit - Duct tape, black tape, clear packing tape. A few screws, finishing nails, machine screws, bit of wire. I don't do much damage, but the clear packing tape is great for putting something back that just won't stay where it was. [:)]