Getting started

I am a new Home Inspector in Ohio trying to get a start. I have passed the National Home Inspector Examination, taken an online training course and have years of experience inspecting government buildings. I have a website and have visited many realty offices promoting my business and I advertise on Craigslist. Nothing is working. How did some of you get started and convince realtors to start putting your name in front of buyers as a possible choice? Any info would be appreciated. Thank you.

Agents who have the best interests of their clients at heart will not tend to recommend a new inspector to them. Agents who are likely to recommend a new inspector do so because they think that they can manipulate you. Therefore, it's counterproductive to market to agents when you're first starting out. Let the better ones come to you after you've established a reputation.

In the meantime, join your local Chamber of Commerce and get to know the other small business owners in your area. These people are hubs in the community. Be sure that they get to know you and know what you do. Buy your business cards and promotional materials at a local print shop. Become a regular at the local diner. Shop at the mom & pop stores instead of the big chains. Learn who owns these places and make sure that they know who you are.

Smile.

Leave your card with everyone you meet and deal with - the checkout person at the supermarket, the teller at the bank, the cop on the corner. Make sure that everyone you meet in your day to day life knows who you are and what you do. Volunteer for Habitat.

Smile.

Make sure that your vehicle looks good and get attractive signage for it. Then keep it clean and drive nicely. Leave it parked in conspicuous locations. Get signage on your wife's car as well, even if it's not used for inspections.