Life expectancy

Now that I have some experience, I am not feeling the self inflicted pressure to be like the other two inpspectors in my town when it comes to report writing. It has been a custom here to have a "life expectancy" section on the summary page of appliances that MAY die in the next 5 or so years. Does anyone do this in their reports? I dont like the idea. I have no way of guessing when a furnace will die. I dont like the buyer getting all nervous that they MAY have to buy a new water heater, AC unit, and furnace maybe, possibily sometime soon cuz the book says so....

What say you?

A separate section, no, but I do note the relative age of the permanent major home appliances (no washers or dryers). It's not an exact science by any stretch, but age and condition tell you a lot after a while. Remaining life is required under ASHI standards; I'm not sure about other SOP's.

Brian G.

Today's Old Appliance Is Tomorrow's Major Expense [:-weepn]

Originally posted by jodil

Now that I have some experience, I am not feeling the self inflicted pressure to be like the other two inpspectors in my town when it comes to report writing. It has been a custom here to have a "life expectancy" section on the summary page of appliances that MAY die in the next 5 or so years. Does anyone do this in their reports? I dont like the idea. I have no way of guessing when a furnace will die. I dont like the buyer getting all nervous that they MAY have to buy a new water heater, AC unit, and furnace maybe, possibily sometime soon cuz the book says so....

What say you?

It's impossible to predict when any particular appliance will die.

However it's very possible to express a statistical life expectancy for a certain type of appliance. My customers seem to appreciate the heads up when I find a doddering appliance.